What does a horse’s “status” mean?
The status field indicates whether the horse is “active” or “inactive“.
When a horse doesn’t require your services any longer, you probably want to remove it from their owner list of horses so you don’t have to skip past them all the time when looking through the horses and they don’t show up as due. But if any invoices contain services done to a horse, it cannot simply be deleted or those old invoices wouldn’t be able to show the horse’s name anymore. The app prevents that by not allowing you to delete any horse that has been included in an invoice.
So, in order to remove them from the lists, you instead set their status to “inactive”. Now they won’t show anywhere else on the app, but they are still in your records so past invoices can still refer to them and, even more importantly, their service histories are still available for reference in the future. If you need to look at your inactive horses, you can tap the active/inactive filter on the top bar on the horse list page to show the inactive horses.
Tapping on the status icon () will switch it from “active” to “inactive” (), and vice-versa.