What does a contact’s “status” mean?
The status field indicates whether the contact is “active” or “inactive“.
When contacts don’t require your services any longer, you might want to remove them from any lists of contacts so you don’t have to skip past them all the time when looking through your contacts. But if a contact has invoices and payments assigned to them, they cannot simply be deleted or those invoices and payments would be deleted from your records too. The app prevents that by not allowing you to delete those contacts.
So, in order to remove them from the lists, you instead set their status to “inactive”. Now they won’t show anywhere else on the app, but their past transactions are still preserved, meaning you can still look at their past invoices, their payments are still counted in your income report, etc. If you need to look at your inactive clients, you can tap the active/inactive filter on the top bar on the contact list page to list the inactive contacts.
Tapping on the status icon () will switch it from “active” to “inactive” (), and vice-versa.
Note that when you change a contact’s status to “inactive“, all their horses will be marked as “inactive” too. The reverse is not true, however. If you need to reactivate horses for a contact, you’ll have to do it individually, on their horse list page.